Presentation Evening 2018-19

Whitstable Town held their end of season presentation evening in the Belmont Ground clubhouse following the last home game against Hythe Town on Easter Monday. There was a good attendance, with a number of supporters staying for the event. Apart from the usual awards, it was a special evening on this occasion, due to the recently announced changes at the football club, with both the chairman and manager standing down at the end of the season to become club president and director of football respectively. Bob Reardon and the rest of the management team and players made a presentation to the manager Scott Porter, thanking him for his hard work and achievements over the past three seasons that included two cup wins, promotion back to the Bostik league and a respectable mid table finish in the first season back at Step 4. On behalf of the committee, Ron Martin then presented long serving chairman Joe Brownett with a salver to commemorate the great contribution that he and his wife Josie have made during over thirty years at the club.

Following the main club awards, Joe thanked everyone for their support, with a special award being given to volunteer Liam Sanderson, who has been a great help to all around the club during the season.

Andy Bruce and the Oysterboys, once again presented their own awards, plus a bottle of champagne for all of the winners on the night. There was also a collection that raised £400 for Whitstable Town player Harry Brown, who entered the London Marathon to raise funds for the British Heart Foundation in memory of his nan.

The committee would like to thank all of those who helped with the evening and the preparation of the buffet, including Tracey, Chantelle and the rest of the bar staff, Richard Baines at City Awards for his assistance with the trophies, the Oysterboys for their awards and sponsorship, Les for the photography and everyone else who attended and helped contribute to an enjoyable evening.

The award winners are listed below.
Manager’s Player: James Morrish
Players’ Player: Dan Eason
Committee’s Player: Rob Gillman
Supporters’ Player: Dan Eason
Young Player: Taylor Fisher
Goal of the Season: Jordan Wright (Faversham at home)
Golden Boot: (not decided, but presented to Steve Smith after the final game)
Special Award: Liam Sanderson (for helping at the club throughout the season)
Oysterboys’ Player Winner: Dan Eason
Oysterboys’ Player Runner-Up: Steve Smith

Some of the attendees and players
James Morrish receives the Manager’s Player award from Scott Porter
Dan Eason is the players’ player and received the award from club captain James Morrish
Les Biggs presents Rob Gillman with the player of the season award on behalf of the committee
Wally Brown presents Dan Eason with the supporters’ player of the year trophy
Talyor Fisher receives the young player of the season shield from his manager
Jordan Wright’s goal against Faversham was chosen as the “goal of the season”
Liam Sanderson with his award from the chairman
Andy Bruce speaks on behalf of the Oysterboys
The Oysterboys with their runner-up Steve Smith
Once again Dan Eason is the Oysterboys’ player of the year
Andy Bruce hands over the collection to Harry Brown towards his London Marathon charity fund raising
Thank you to the bar staff from their best customers, the Oysterboys
An emotional Scott Porter receiving a special thank you
Joe and Josie Brownett with their awards