Velocity Trophy Quarter Final
Tuesday January 15 2019 19.45

Whitstable departed their last cup competition of the season at Bostik Premier League team, AFC Hornchurch. The result was rarely in doubt after an early goal for the home side, but Whitstable kept going and were eventually rewarded with a consolation goal for their efforts. Some hesitant defending allowed Ronnie Winn to open the scoring and Hornchurch always looked likely to add further goals with their neat approach play. Whitstable did win five first half corners, but suffered from the poor delivery of set pieces throughout. James Trueman hit the post with a far post header and the hard working Tom Walmsley forced a good save from Callum Chafer. Dan Eason and his defence were frequently under pressure at the other end though and after a good double save by the Whitstable goalkeeper from the dangerous George Purcell, he was beaten by Sean Marks, who glanced in a good cross to double the advantage before the break. Hornchurch struck the post twice early in the second half, but their third goal was somewhat fortunate when a clearance rebounded of Marks and into the net. Purcell finally got the goal he deserved when meeting a good cross by substitute Charlie Stimson. Whitstable showed some spirit towards the end, with John Walker making a welcome return to action and when Charlie Smith was pushed in the penalty area, Ricky Freeman beat Chafer from the spot to make the final score 4-1. Hornchurch will host Bracknell Town in the semi-finals, who perhaps surprisingly beat Folkestone by the same score.

Full report and photos to follow…

Hornchurch Whitstable
12 Attempts 7
6 On Target 2
1 Corners 6
1 Offside 0
10 Free Kicks Won 11

AFC Hornchurch
Callum Chafer, Alex Bentley (c), Jay Porter, Jordan Clark, George Winn, Taylor Miles, George Saunders (Lee Prescott 71), Jamie Hursit, Sean Marks (Charlie Stimson 59), George Purcell (Sonny Dutton 75), Ronnie Winn.
Sub (unused): Harvey Wright
Goals: Ronnie Winn 7, Sean Marks 33, 56, George Purcell 63.
Yellow card: Lee Prescott 85

Whitstable Town
Dan Eason, Sam Welch (John Walker 64), Harry Brown, Jordan Wright, Stuart West, Tom Bryant, Chris Saunders (Charlie Smith 60), James Morrish (c), Ricky Freeman, Tom Walmsley, James Trueman.
Sub (unused): Louis Sprosen
Goal: Ricky Freeman pen 81
Yellow card: Tom Walmsley 90+1

Attendance: 88
Referee: Andreas Anastasiou
Assistants: James Keane & Elliott Mayer


Date Time League Season
Tue 15 Jan 2019 7:45 pm The Velocity Trophy 2018-2019


Hornchurch Stadium
19-23 Bridge Ave, Upminster RM14, UK


Club1st Half2nd HalfGoals
AFC Hornchurch224
Whitstable Town011